English News

The latest news from the English Department

January 10, 2018
Photos 2018


​ 1st place
1st place- Lily Barnes
2nd place
2nd place- Elissia Jimenez 
 3rd place
3rd place- Ally True

Judges   Our judges were:
Eli Leveroni (retired MHS English teacher and department chair)
Sue Donovan (retired MHS Special Education teacher)
Justin Tucker (QMS ELA teacher)
Aimee Lima (assistant principal, former English teacher)
Diane Cileno (MHS librarian)

Photos 2016


 For our second year,Mansfield High School students participated in a nation-wide poetry recitation contest, Poetry Out Loud, sponsored by The National Endowment for the Arts and the Poetry Foundation. It was held Wednesday, January 27, 2016 in the school library.

               “The National Endowment for the Arts and the Poetry Foundation have partnered with U.S. state arts agencies to support Poetry Out Loud, a contest that encourages the nation's youth to learn about great poetry through memorization and recitation. This program helps student’s master public speaking skills, build self-confidence, and learn about their literary heritage.

               Poetry Out Loud uses a pyramid structure that starts at the classroom level. Winners advance to a school-wide competition, then to area regional and/or state competition, and ultimately to the National Finals.”(www.poetryoutloud.org) Participating MHS students are in the midst of their class room competitions; winners will move on to our January 27th school-wide competition.

The English department is proud to congratulate the following students who have won their classroom competitions in the national Poetry Out Loud recitation contest.  These students have earned a place in the school-wide round of Poetry Out Loud.

Rachael Howe
Julio Arevalo
Derek Degeis
Savi Hettiarachi
Brandon Tsozic
Riley Pace
Sara Adra
Meaghan Joyce
Ernany Pires
Cyrus Bernstein
Mandy Kessler
Kristen Page
Natalie Cunniffe
Marsha Louis
Emily Maynard
Joelle Itzkowitz
Serena Dunlap
Ricky Sprague
Joe Harrington
Chris Elsner
Cindy Gu
Jocelyn Reardon
Brigid Connery
Amulya Jaldu
Allie Kelliher
Jill Kern
Divya Odayappan
Meghana Tallam
Lucy Zhou
 1st runner up
Brigid Connery
1st Runner-up
Joe Harrington
2nd runner up
Serena Dunlap
2nd Runner-up

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.